Are you a Satanist?

Are you a Satanist?  The answer most people would give to this question is “No!”  The popular conception of a Satanist is someone who meets at midnight with other Satanists to perform Black Masses and other Satanic rituals.  There are probably some Satanists like this but the vast majority of Satanists are unaware of the fact that they are serving Satan and many of them even believe they are serving God.

In his letter to the Ephesians Paul describes the condition of Christians before we were saved.

And you were dead in the trespasses and sins in which you once walked, following the course of this world, following the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that is now at work in the sons of disobedience—among whom we all once lived in the passions of our flesh, carrying out the desires of the body and the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, like the rest of mankind.
Ephesians 2:1-3

Before our salvation we were dead in our sins and followed Satan, the prince of the power of the air.  God and Satan are moral opposites so there are different requirements for worshiping them.

To worship God you must believe that he exists.

Without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.
Hebrews 11:6

Satan doesn’t care whether you believe in his existence or not.  Some of his greatest servants deny that he exists.

There is one way to come to God.

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”
John 14:6

Anyone who tries to approach God in any other way is actually worshiping Satan.  Some follow false religions, some are atheists who deny the existence of both God and Satan, and some even profess to be Christians.

God wants his worshipers to know they are his children.

The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, provided we suffer with him in order that we may also be glorified with him.
Romans 8:16-17

Satan doesn’t want his worshipers to know they are really serving him.

Satanists don’t always do things that are evil.  In fact some of them do a lot of good things for others.  In this way they are following the example of their master.

Even Satan disguises himself as an angel of light. So it is no surprise if his servants, also, disguise themselves as servants of righteousness.
2 Corinthians 11:14-15

Satan doesn’t care how much good his followers do in this world as long as they don’t prepare themselves for the next.

What does it profit a man to gain the whole world and forfeit his soul?
Mark 8:36

I was a Satanist for the first 16 years of my life.  I grew up in a home where the Bible was believed to be the Word of God and I have never doubted its truth.  I attended Sunday school regularly and tried to learn what the Bible teaches.  But there was one thing missing.  I never understood how I could be saved by putting my faith in Christ.  Satan blinded me to keep me from seeing this truth.

The god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelievers, to keep them from seeing the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.
2 Corinthians 4:4

I read the commands that God gave and came to the conclusion that I needed to obey those commands in order to earn my right to go to Heaven.  I noticed that all believers got baptized and assumed that baptism was necessary for salvation.  When I was 14 years old I was baptized and became a member of my church.  I then began trying to live a good enough life so that I would deserve salvation.

When I was 16 I began listening to a radio program called Back to the Bible.  God opened my eyes so I could see that salvation wasn’t something I could earn by my own efforts but that it was a gift that I could receive from God by putting my faith in Jesus Christ.  At that point I stopped being a Satanist and became a true follower of God.

(If you are interested in knowing more about Back to the Bible you can find out here: Back to the Bible  They offer a lot of Bible study helps besides their radio broadcasts.)

I have sometimes wondered what my life would be like today if I hadn’t put my faith in Christ.  Perhaps I would have lost interest in serving God and even become an atheist.  I might have joined some false cult or religion.  It is possible that I would have lived my life still professing to be a Christian.  Whatever course I followed I am certain I would never suspect that I was really a Satanist.

Everyone reading this post either was a Satanist at some time in his past or still is one.  Examine your life to see which category you are in.

Posted on May 10, 2016, in Bible study, salvation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Yes. I pledge allegiance to the Dark Lord.

    Like

  2. I’ve been reading through Ephesians, so that passage you shared about being dead in our transgressions is helpful. Before we’re saved we don’t understand the helpless state we’re in. A dead person can’t do anything. We’re lost until we become alive in Christ.

    Like

Bible-Science Guy

Debunking evolutionism. Proclaiming Truth. Exalting the Creator. Exploring Creation.

Kingdom Pastor

Living Freely In God's Kingdom

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

ApoloJedi

Discussing Biblical Authority

altruistico

People Healing People

GoodFishBadFish

only dead fish go with the flow

A Lawyer's Prayers

CHRISTIAN COMMENTARY ON RELIGION, POLITICS, AND SOCIAL JUSTICE

Truth in Palmyra

By Wally Fry

Squid's Cup of Tea

SUM, ergo sumus. I AM, therefore we are.

His Eternal Word

Psalm 119:89,"Forever, O LORD, thy word is settled in heaven"

Watch Your Life and Doctrine Closely...

...for by so doing you will save both yourself and your hearers - 1 Timothy 4:16

hipandthigh

Smiting Theological Philistines with a Great Slaughter

sixdaysblog

For in six days the Lord made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, but he rested on the seventh day. Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy. (Exodus 20:11)

