I asked the Lord that I might grow

Have you ever prayed to God for something and found that afterward everything in your life seemed to go wrong?  John Newton apparently experienced this but he realized that the troubles he experienced were in fact God’s way of answering his prayers.  He wrote a hymn called I asked the Lord that I might grow in which he expressed both his frustration and his faith.  Here are the words.

1 I asked the Lord that I might grow
In faith, and love, and every grace;
Might more of his salvation know,
And seek more earnestly his face.

2 ‘Twas he who taught me thus to pray;
And he, I trust, has answered prayer:
But it has been in such a way
As almost drove me to despair.

3 I hoped that in some favored hour,
At once he’d grant me my request;
And, by his love’s constraining power,
Subdue my sins, and give me rest.

4 Instead of this, he made me feel
The hidden evils of my heart,
And let the angry powers of hell
Assault my soul in every part.

5 Yea more, with his own hand he seemed
Intent to aggravate my woe;
Crossed all the fair designs I schemed,
Blasted my gourds, and laid me low.

6 Lord, why is this? I trembling cried;
Wilt thou pursue thy worm to death?
‘Tis in this way, the Lord replied,
I answer prayer for grace and faith.

7 These inward trials I employ
From self and pride to set thee free,
To break thy schemes of worldly joy,
That thou mayst seek thy all in me.

Newton is famous as the author of Amazing Grace, but few people know about the many other hymns he wrote.  Here is a complete list of his hymns:

John Newton’s hymns

I wasn’t aware of any of these other hymns until I obtained a hymnal which included several of Newton’s hymns.  You can purchase the hymnal here:

Hymns Of Grace

Most of those who sing Amazing Grace don’t know that other people have added verses to it since Newton wrote it.  Here is a copy of the hymn containing some of these added verses:

Amazing Grace

Posted on April 17, 2016, in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Love John Newton. He considers human frailty in such a profound way.

    Like

Steak and a Bible

Food for the body and soul, but mostly the soul.

Biblical Beginnings

Christian, wife, mom, homeschooler, traveller

Spiritual Transfiguration

My walk and journey with God.

HANDS ACROSS THE AISLE

Biology, Not Bigotry

Bible-Science Guy

Debunking evolutionism. Proclaiming Truth. Exalting the Creator. Exploring Creation.

Kingdom Pastor

Living Freely In God's Kingdom

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

ApoloJedi

Discussing Biblical Authority

A Lawyer's Prayers

CHRISTIAN COMMENTARY ON RELIGION, POLITICS, AND SOCIAL JUSTICE

Truth in Palmyra

By Wally Fry

Squid's Cup of Tea

The Musings of a Messianic Homeschooler

His Eternal Word

Psalm 119:89,"Forever, O LORD, thy word is settled in heaven"

Watch Your Life and Doctrine Closely...

...for by so doing you will save both yourself and your hearers - 1 Timothy 4:16

hipandthigh

Smiting Theological Philistines with a Great Slaughter

sixdaysblog

For in six days the Lord made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, but he rested on the seventh day. Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy. (Exodus 20:11)

