Our daily bread

When the disciples of Jesus asked him to teach them to pray he gave them a model prayer called the Lord’s prayer which included this request:

Give us each day our daily bread.
Luke 11:3

We ask this because our bodies need food in order to function properly.  But we need more than just nourishment for our bodies.

Man does not live by bread alone, but man lives by every word that comes from the mouth of the LORD.
Deuteronomy 8:3

We are more than our bodies so we need more than physical food.  The Bible provides the spiritual nourishment that our souls need.  Failure to eat properly can lead to malnutrition.  Failure to read and study the Bible can lead to spiritual malnutrition.

Learning what the Bible says isn’t an end in itself.

Be doers of the word, and not hearers only.
James 1:22

We don’t study the Bible just to acquire intellectual knowledge but in order to find out how God wants us to live.

Jesus said to them, “My food is to do the will of him who sent me and to accomplish his work.”
John 4:34

In John 17:4 Jesus reveals the ultimate goal of doing God’s will.

I glorified you on earth, having accomplished the work that you gave me to do.

This is the purpose for which we were created: to bring glory to God.  We do this by finishing the work he gives us to do and we need nourishment for our bodies and our souls to give us the strength for this work.

Chapter 11 of Luke begins with Jesus teaching his disciples the Lord’s prayer; immediately after doing this Jesus told this parable which reveals a fourth meaning:

And he said to them, “Which of you who has a friend will go to him at midnight and say to him, ‘Friend, lend me three loaves, for a friend of mine has arrived on a journey, and I have nothing to set before him’; and he will answer from within, ‘Do not bother me; the door is now shut, and my children are with me in bed. I cannot get up and give you anything’? I tell you, though he will not get up and give him anything because he is his friend, yet because of his impudence he will rise and give him whatever he needs.
Luke 11:5-8

The man wasn’t asking for bread because he needed it himself but so he could use it to meet someone else’s needs.

As we have opportunity, let us do good to everyone, and especially to those who are of the household of faith.
Galatians 6:10

When a Christian prays the Lord’s prayer and asks for his daily bread he is making four requests.

  1. Give me the food I need to sustain my body.
  2. Give me knowledge and understanding of the Bible I need to sustain my soul.
  3. Show me what work you want me to do today so I can glorify you.
  4. Give me what I need so that I will be able to help others.
Posted on April 6, 2013, in Bible study, practical lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Our daily bread.

Comments are closed.

The Recovering Know It All

The Man who Learned Too Much and Lived to Tell

HANDS ACROSS THE AISLE

Biology, Not Bigotry

Bible-Science Guy

Debunking evolutionism. Proclaiming Truth. Exalting the Creator. Exploring Creation.

Kingdom Pastor

Living Freely In God's Kingdom

The Lions Den

"Blending the colorful issues of life with the unapologetic truth of scripture." ColorStorm

ApoloJedi

Discussing Biblical Authority

A Lawyer's Prayers

CHRISTIAN COMMENTARY ON RELIGION, POLITICS, AND SOCIAL JUSTICE

Truth in Palmyra

By Wally Fry

Squid's Cup of Tea

The Musings of a Messianic Homeschooler

His Eternal Word

Psalm 119:89,"Forever, O LORD, thy word is settled in heaven"

Watch Your Life and Doctrine Closely...

...for by so doing you will save both yourself and your hearers - 1 Timothy 4:16

hipandthigh

Smiting Theological Philistines with a Great Slaughter

sixdaysblog

For in six days the Lord made the heavens and the earth, the sea, and all that is in them, but he rested on the seventh day. Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy. (Exodus 20:11)

